Do I need a dog licence? What are the leash rules?
In the Village of Mayo, Yukon, dogs & animal control rules are set by Bylaw No. 347 - Animal Control Bylaw and 1 other bylaw, verified 2026-09-29. Fines: voluntary fines per Schedule A ($50-$500); up to $10,000 under Criminal Code; up to $500 under Summary Convictions Act. A licence is required. Licence fee: lifetime dog licence; impoundment $25-$120 + $20/day feed (per text); other fees not specified.
Bylaw No. 347 - Animal Control Bylaw
adopted bylaw
licence required
yes
s. 9
licence fee
lifetime dog licence; impoundment $25-$120 + $20/day feed (per text); other fees not specified
s. 36, 37, 38
leash rule
No dog at large; on public property must be on leash held at all times by a person able to control the animal
s. 24, 26
max animals
max 2 dogs and 2 cats on residential property; 3 dogs by special permit
s. 20, 21
fine range
voluntary fines per Schedule A ($50-$500); up to $10,000 under Criminal Code; up to $500 under Summary Convictions Act
s. 108 and Schedule A
scout note
Current Village of Mayo animal control bylaw (replaces Bylaw 92). Covers dog licenses, rabies control, dangerous dogs, impoundment. Scanned PDF confirmed by OCR; first reading 2022, full adoption date not legible.
Bylaw No. 92 - Animal Control (earlier version)
adopted bylaw
licence required
yes
s. 4 (Dog Licenses)
licence fee
annual licence to Dec 31, fee not more than $50.00 (per garbled text); impoundment $45-$120 + $5/day feed
s. 2 (Dog Licenses)
leash rule
No animal on public property unless on leash held by a person able to control it; animal off owner's premises not under control deemed at large
s. 26
max animals
max 2 dogs/cats without special permit; max 5 dogs absolute limit; poultry by special permit
s. 16, 17
fine range
1st offence up to $100; 2nd up to $200; 3rd and subsequent up to $300
s. 49
scout note
Earlier Village of Mayo animal control bylaw, superseded by Bylaw 347. Title page confirms 'Animal Control By-law', Village of Mayo. Scanned PDF confirmed by OCR.